Special breakfast

Okay so I grew up in Los Angeles and biscuits and gravy is not exactly a common meal out here in general, but this is one of my favorite breakfasts. Since it’s pretty much impossible to find without meat, I learned to make this for myself as a teenager. It’s so simple to put together and so delicious. A lot of the time I use mix for the biscuits but this time I made them from scratch. I’m not sure they turned out better necessarily, but they were still filling and delicious. The gravy is about as basic as it gets: soy milk, flour, salt & pepper. I couldn’t even tell you the measurements, because I just add until it seems right. I got a little distracted when I was making the gravy this time so it ended up a bit lumpy (oops!) but it still tasted just fine. I also added some tofurky sausage to the gravy which was a perfect addition.

Seven days in a row of posting for VeganMoFo. I’m pretty proud of myself. 🙂
1 Comment

Filed under biscuits and gravy, veganmofo

One response to “Special breakfast

  1. Kelly

    These look extremely savory and comforting. Growing up in the Midwest adn now living in New England I don’t see biscuits and gravy a lot either but find them really satisfying. The biscuits especially look delicious. They look like they have nice color.

Leave a Reply

